Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2001-02-02

See how committed I am to you people? Yes, you, the reader. I'm breaking the fourth wall in a big way, yes, I know. But I'll have you know that I walked six blocks away from work before I realised that I left this update on my desktop at work. So I walked back all the way. For you. I'm that committed to you. Yes, yes I am.

I know, I know. I walked all that way...for this?

I had a perfectly fine topic come to me in the shower this morning, something that I really wanted to write about; to share with the people who read this page and explore for myself. I have absolutely no idea what it was now, except of course that it seemed really profound at the time. Probably I forgot because it was so damn early. And probably it wasn't that profound, either.

We've been asked by the department head to come in at a normal business hour, not at Creative Standard Time. Of course, there's a reason for the later than usual creative hours -- usually I'm up late because that's often when inspiration strikes. The only thing that usually strikes at Nine AM sharp are hunger pains.

I'm definitely full-fledged sick. Of course, now I'm too busy to take work off, so I end up doing the exact thing I berate other people for doing: coming in and coughing on all the other staff. Hypocritical? Maybe. But dammit, I've got important [hack, choke] things to do.

I hate it when I'm right sometimes. I'd like to be wrong when I'm cynical. Like this unfortunate truism: many designers -- people who play with letters for a living -- cannot spell. This is why I automatically searched our image database at work for "cubical" (uncommon, meaning "cube-shaped") as well as "cubicle" (common, meaning "a square or cube shaped room or area") when I was specifically looking for the latter. I mean, misspellings happen, but I got more results for the uncommon spelling, and I don't think that's because our photo database has more pictures of theoretical geometry than desks.

Mmm...cherry/menthol cough drops and espresso. How tasty together. Blertch.

All week I've gotten random songs stuck in my head during lunch. And every time I've said to myself, "Oh, I need to remember to download that from Napster before they start charging for it." Every time I've forgotten what the song was. So tonight I remembered one and just logged on and spent, oh, my whole evening downloading music.

Maybe I'm not as committed to you people as I thought.

The strongest musical meme this week, however, was "Never Can Say Goodbye". My version of choice is the Communards' 1986 Gay Euro Pop version. (I think I just dated myself again.) I'm reminded because it was mentioned at Ron's site, and somewhere else, I think. But mostly because a circuit-queen-type at work -- Ok, maybe that's not accurate, but certainly a big-gay-club-going tight-ribbed-shirt-wearing gay boy -- was whistling it outside my office. I was surprised that I recognized it in such a minimalist form. Apparantly someone's set it to a new beat and it's getting played in clubs again. Who'da thunk.

The Boyfriend told me not to stay up too late. Oops. I think I missed "too late" already.

I've made accidental contact recently with a couple of old friends, people I just lost the time to see for work and boyfriend and then failed to keep in phone contact. It's more than a little sad to realize that it's solely my crappy communcation skills that has estranged people I used to enjoy spending time with from me. The question now is, do I fix it so I don't do this again? And how? Hmm. "Miss girl is dealing with some demons over there..."

Sorry, was that too gay?

Maybe I should have left this on the desktop after all.

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.