Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2002-05-24

I've put all the things I want to finish today on a sticky note, which is currently stuck to another sticky note, which is stuck to my Visor organizer. I think this is an indication that I need to relax.

I was in one of those sorts of moods where everything moves too slowly. Where if the running monologue in my brain was translated word-for-word onto a sheet of paper, the only way to do it justice would have been torunallthewordstogetherwithoutpunctuationSinglethoughtswouldbe
unintelligableandIwouldrambleoninMarkMorfordstyleflightsofrunon
sentencesandgrammaticalinsanity.

Last night in the midst of this I came off a design high, having completed a flier design that was taunting me to come up with something attractive with no source materials. My hard drive had fried and lost all my MP3s, so I was working in silence for hours. I made a todo list. I entered items into my visor, left comments for webloggers, arranged my things for work tomorrow, removed a particularly stubborn amount of dirt that had collected inside my mouse, rearranged the money in my wallet so that the bills were ordered lowest denomination to highest and that bills were serialized properly within each denomination. (I once ironed my money. I was ironing other things beforehand, I swear.) I was not tired, but I turned around to see how late I was up.

It was 2:22. I took that as a sign. In five minutes I had brushed, peed, rearranged the blankets so that everything was flat and level, and that sheet and blanket reached all four corners of the bed, and placed myself stiffly in the middle of it. My blankets are not large enough for hospital corners, but I make do.

I fell asleep without too much effort. I remember no dreams, only darkness. I woke up a little late, having turned off the radio without waking, and letting the coffee cool to just above tepid in its pot.

I wish I could say that I leapt to my feet and began the day, but even my manias are no match for my need for caffeine.

Thank god for my manias, or I'd never get anything done.

[Posted on June 26th. This is all I remember. Maybe there was a point to be made in here, but a month later this is all that remains. Maybe the point was that Manias are only good until you crash.]

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.