Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2002-06-04

On a Saturday we saw an Richard Galliano, reknowned jazz accordionist, perform live.

When I say that to people they seem to cough politely and says, "How nice." I don't know how to explain it better, but he sounded incredible. He made an accordion�an unlikely instrument indeed�make noises like a harmonica, or a synthesizer, or a church organ. And saints protect me, but I started to wonder how much an accordion of my own would be.

While we didn't subject anyone at his party to it, we did listen to accordion music all the way up to and from Aaron's Heathers-themed birthday event up in Sacramento. It's not as long a drive as we anticipated, nor did I balloon up from allergies as I anticipated, given my mother's reactions from a trip earlier this year. (She spent a couple of days in a hotel room surviving on Allerest and air conditioning. I was prepared for the worst.)

Aaron and Robert's place has a wonderful yard in the back, where wisteria climbed, croquet mallets were menaced, a tasty punch was ladled, finger sandwiches were passed. As I expected, they're incredible hosts.

Their other guests were all 'real-world' friends, but some names I noticed. To paraphrase my favorite weblog-comment: "Being a blogger is like being a strange, minor celebrity, without the perks like getting you tables at restaurants, or a paycheck."

I did my best to be the ambassador of the blog milieu, but within a couple of hours the coffee had passed out of my bloodstream and I was craving CRT radiation again; sorry to say, but there's only a couple of hours of outgoing in me at a time.

And I understood they had great pat�, but we had to motor.

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.