Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2000-11-16

The tone of my previous entry was perhaps a little snooty, particularly about having a housekeeping staff. Sorry about that. I'll have you know that I repented by staying at the Boyfriend's parent's house and sleeping in an old small queen bed that sagged in the middle. I still enjoyed myself.

God, I met a lot of relatives.

In New York we also met with an old College friend of The Boyfriend, who also brought his wife and two-year-old son. He's actually the cutest two-year-old I know. He marched in the suite we were staying in and, without prompting, announced "nice wroom!" He enjoyed jumping on the bed. The college friend asked if we'd ever consider having kids. We looked at each other and swiftly said no. It's funny and maybe a little sad, but when you grow up believing that you'll never have a wedding or raise kids, when the idea presents itself it seems preposterous. Of course I'll never have kids; fags don't have kids. I don't even like kids. (OK, that last part is still true.) But I also believed that I couldn't be in a monogamous relationship with someone, because that's not what fags do. So who can say.

Of course, as they say, monogamy is a journey, not a destination. A process, not a state of being. And certainly there's no questioning a 'state of being' that's two years old and throwing (clean) folded diapers around the living room, so it's a little hard to compare. But I digress.

Lots of relatives. Including the Aunt who first sent holiday cards addressed to the two of us. ["It never bothered me," she confided. "I used to go out with a Fella" (said with only a pause to indicate the extra meaning) "and it was nice. You never had to worry about him making a pass -- he just liked to dance."]

It's still odd being out to only one of our families. Like my Dad can't guess...I mean, his 30-year-old son is unmarried, lives in San Francisco, does art, and has never mentioned dating a woman. You'd think he'd figure it out. Yes, I'd like to not worry about what I say om the phone. But my agreement with my Mother stands until we renegotiate. Again, I digress.

Lots and lots of relatives. We reserved a day for a museum and sightseeing in DC, which was a good decision on the Boyfriend's part. The last day I met a sister and brother-in-law before bed; a brother that morning; family friends next door, old friends from elementary school before we drove to the airport; and an Aunt and Uncle who made a special trip to the airport to meet us before we flew back to San Francisco. And because it wasn't direct, it took about 10 hours flight time to get from that coast to this one.

I slept well that night.

The Roommate did an incredible job cleaning while I was gone. I came back and the apartment looked fantastic. I did have a little trouble readapting -- for a brief second I actually did think there was continental breakfast in the lobby of our apartment. And at the risk of making you people sick, it was odd to suddenly not have the Boyfriend sweetly sleeping next to me every night. I'd grown quite used to it. But enough time in front of the computer chair and I got my web lifestyle groove back.

Of course, while I was away from work, they discovered that they actually can save two weeks of work for you until you get back. Who'd have thought it.

You know, I've changed my mind. I don't actually repent about sounding snooty before. I still want a housekeeping staff of my own. And contintental breakfast served until 10:30.

Is that really so much to ask?

_Casey

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.