Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2000-05-04

Damn, things happen quickly.

My apologies to all seven of you who visit this page regularly. (grin) I've been very bad at updating. You might have noticed a similar break in February. Same deal. Suddenly a lot of things happened at once.

Suddenly, a coworker with a title which is (quite arguably) above mine has left the company. I've been asked to fill this more-managerial title. I don't know if I want to. I enjoy being able to clear my mind and just crank out graphics. I like the instant gratification of it. I enjoy using the tools. And I don't like telling other people what to do. But I know history about this place; I'm good at working with our clients, which would be a prime part of this new job. I've been promised a staff. I've had assistants hired for me, but they never really worked out -- someone else somewhere else always ended up using them for some other position. Hmph. I was leaning away from taking the position.

Then I found out that my boss is leaving the company! My boss was one of the reasons I was resisting the 'promotion' -- I enjoy working for him much more than I do working with the person who would be my boss for the new position. Hmph again. So guess who my boss is going to be?

So I've had a lot to think about. And a lot to do. A lot of promotional materials have come past my desk these past weeks, from entire banner campaigns to sweepstakes webpages.

And I have two weeks off. We determined that I could spend of my massive saved-up paid time off between sweepstakes. I'm not quite sure what I'm going to do with myself. Possibly update my diary a little more often.

The Roommate bought a copy of Civilization: Call To Power. Bad Roommate. I've been playing it late into the evening/early into the morning. Bad Me. Very Bad Me. I don't do so well at work on four hours of sleep.

The Roommate also bought a cellphone. Yucky. I'm not a cellphone person. I usually do not want to be contacted at all, and certainly not at any time of day. Actually, I dislike using the phone at all, much to the Boyfriend's chagrin. Though I talk with him on it for an hour or more each day. But he has to call. I dunno. It's just the way I'm damaged.

Nonetheless that sweet plastic smell of new technology has given me a touch of gadget envy. (The Roommate will deny to the grave ever having gadget envy; I know the truth.) Do I want a Palm Pilot/Visor? Hm. I dunno. Don't know if I'd use one. So the boyfriend is letting me (in fact, practically making me) borrow his old one before I buy something of my own. We'll see. It might make managing work and life easier.

OK. I've had a little much wine tonight...it was my manager's going away dinner, and a coworker kept filling my glass. I'm going to continue my world conquest, and not think about anything. Sometimes that's just easier.

_Casey

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.