Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2001-11-22

I'm rapidly running out of time before I'm supposed to be at the boyfriend's house to go to Thanksgiving dinner at his friends' house. Apparently at some undetermined time during dinner, Kate Smith's "God Bless America" will be played and we will be expected to make like Congress and sing along. I'm scared already.

The truth of the matter is I'm just not moving as quickly as I was. Like Ricardo, I really have been drinking less coffee, going from 4 espresso shots and 3-4 mugs (not cups) of coffee on a workday, to 2 espresso shots and 2-3 mugs of coffee. It's a start. Sunday, after we stayed up late watching the Leonid Meteor Storm, the only coffee I had was a double Depth Charge (2 shots, 1 mug) at lunch, since we slept through breakfast. By midnight I was dozing off while reading in bed, but I think that was more a result of being up a lot later than usual the night before.

We went to Teatro Zinzanni earlier that evening, which was great fun. The show has some cheesy moments, but all in all it was pretty good. Good food, fun entertainment...I particularly enjoyed the chaotic frenzy when dessert was thrown at us. Literally.

The Leonids were neat. We set up under blankets and with a glass of wine up in Napa County in basically a gravel lot/road behind some sort of county science building. We argued good-naturedly over what various constellations were, neither of us able to effectively work the rotating sky-map The Boyfriend brought. And I only broke into the Galaxy Song from Monty Python's The Meaning of Life once, so I think that could be considered a success.

I love that slightly bittersweet moment of realization that I was holding someone very precious to me and watching the sky light up as flecks of dust hit far above our heads. I'd learned earlier in the week that a friend's brother had died on flight 587 last week, leaving behind his lover of many years. Many times this week my thoughts went out to them and their family. Our time here is short, and the symbolism of watching these brief streaks of light in the night sky was not lost on me.

There were only a few people at our spot, and once we were settled we could hear their giggling conversations. "This is what it sounds like camping," said The Boyfriend, "when you can hear other tents but can't quite make out anything they're saying." I don't know if that was a thinly veiled threat invitation to actually go camping or not. But why not? I might be up for the idea...as long as this "camping" thing also includes real beds, room service, an internet connection, espresso bar, and jacuzzi tub. See? I'm easy to please.

It took a little but of doing to get my eyes to focus on something so far away. I spend so much of my time engaged with something about 2 feet from my face. That's probably pretty metaphoric for the rest of my life, but that's not something I want to try to analyze right now.

The next day I still found it hard to focus at lunch; my eyes hurt if I looked at anything too long. I started getting a little worried that something was wrong with my eyes. Then I realized I had five or six glasses of wine over the course of the evening. I think I was just hungover. Shows you how often that happens.

Okay, I've run out of time to vacuum the house or change my sheets, in case we end up back at my house afterwards. I've run out of time to call my mom before we go, so I'll have to do so afterwards. I've also run out of time to proofread, so I appreciate your patience.

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.