Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2001-06-14

"Maybe since someone has some time off someone could update their journal." I don't respond to the snarky comment from the other room. I had fully intended to update the journal this week anyway. Once I got my thoughts together. That's the hard part. Actually, snarky comments make me less likely to post, ere the originators think they had some hand in "spurring me on." But that's just me being childish.

I'm on vacation. Honestly. I don't have to do anything worklike if I don't wish to. Even writing this, which from a purely technical perspective ("Create content; Post on Web") is work-like. I mean, I might rather be playing Burning Monkey Puzzle Lab before I leave for an evening away from the computer, but I would like to have this off my "plate", so to speak -- and I do like writing it. There are a bunch of chores I would like to accomplish too, but this is more personally rewarding. Plus I'll hear fewer snarky comments. But it'd be nice to have an organized closet.

I spoke to Mom the other night. She said that cleaning out my closet wasn't an appropriate way to spend a vacation day. That concerns me. It isn't? Am I still unclear on the "time-off" concept? It's a bad thing for me to feel guilty about "wasting" free time, when I know I'm going to and really want to. Yesterday i got quarters and washed my sheets, and did a little cleaning. That was about as productive as I got.

So I'm a day and half into some time off and am trying not to think of it as "two days gone already." I do have a weekend coming up, too, though the nights are pretty well planned between then and now with the Lesbian and Gay (screw the rest of you for a shorter acronym) Film Festival. Tonight is opening night; a screening at the Castro Theater and the Gala afterwards at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts. Really I could give two squirts of piss for the gala itself. We wanted to see the movie, but there's no "Movie only" option. And if I'm going to spend that much on the ticket, damn right I'm drinking champagne afterwards.

It's not that I'm social or charitable. I'm just cheap.

The Boyfriend and I keep planning things to do. Which, admittedly, is much better than never planning anything at all (for example, see...oh, all my entries from January through April.) We're planning on dinner with two of my friends from work on Friday before we all see a movie at the Castro. Later this month we're going with one of his friends from work and his girlfriend to the Paramount in Oakland for "Phantom of the Opera" (1925). So if you think of it in that way, we're double-dating twice in two months.

Can I be scared now?

This past weekend I was really going to do some more work. Work-work, that is, stuff for the office, but I was having a really good time going to the Pro Arts Gallery Open Studios in the East Bay. We saw a bunch of stuff, with a focus on art glass (a favorite of the Boyfriend) and ceramics. Really, I'm generally not as moved by illustrative arts as I am by the sculptural (or performing). Which explains why I'm working on the Web, doesn't it?

So even though I'm not much for painting, I still found an $1100 painting that I considered buying. Which scared us all: me, because I considered spending $1100 on a painting; the Boyfriend, because I was expressing interest in something colorful; and the Roommate, who would be dismayed that I'd want to hang the thing somewhere in our apartment. (We have slightly different tastes in art. I'll just leave it at that, so there's not a row when I see him next.) I did buy an inexpensive glass bowl that I liked from a glass art collective of slightly-older Berkeley women. Now I have to figure out where to put it. One trip to Ikea and I'm all about "reorganizing my space." Look out.

Of course, after seeing some of the good (and bad) stuff that people are paying for, I do have to wonder why I'm not doing any art of my own. Admittedly, my ideas for art pieces have never been practical -- the steel-frame-and-rubber-sheet pieces which never got off the sketchbook, for instance, the ones with blocks of ice and nude models strapped or lashed into them -- but I'm looking fondly back at making "art" and wondering if I want to try getting back there somehow. We'll see.

Maybe once I clean out my closet.

Suuuuure.

_Casey

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.