Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2000-06-06

N.B. I'm submiting multiple, shorter entries behind this one; so if you're looking for more content, you may find some via the "older" pages. Yay for content.

Well, that was a lovely surprise. That 1PM meeting suddenly became a business lunch with my new boss and our 'client' in marketing. At least lunch was put on an expense account. That's fair payment for me trying my best to make polite conversation during the non-work portions.

This new office is hot. The window faces south and therefore gets indirect sunlight all day long. I need to invest in curtains and a fan if I intend to stay here for any length of time. Well, we'll see if I decide to loosen the Golden Handcuffs, then perhaps I won't need to bother.

I really shouldn't bitch like this. I shouldn't bitch this loudly, either. But it's seemed like I've watched two people in this particular job squeezed out at the first signs of dissention In fairness, the situations were complicated, and that wasn't exactly what happened, but that was a component. I'm wary. And today I'm wearing my Tina T-shirt, so I'm fearless too.

Mostly I feel gormless and feckless, however.

* * *

I get to hire someone to take my old position. The Roommate found this want ad, which I think about sums it up.

"SEEKING talented graphic designer/ programmer, organized self-starter, familiar with interactive theory, consumer psychology, GUI design, fine art, advertising, and marketing. Successful candidate will code like the Dickens and write like him too. Proofreading skills helpful. Journalistic background a plus. Illustration and typographic expertise essential. Must be able to design compelling animations and render them under 12K. Should know HTML, JavaScript, CSS, Shockwave, and Flash. Bonus points for PERL and C++. Must be willing to work long hours for low pay while subsisting on Doritos and cola."

* * *

_Casey

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.