Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2000-04-04

Crazy insane, life has been. My apologies for those of you who've checked in during the past week. One of my bosses, the department head, and a high-level person I seem to do a lot of work for in Marketing left the country for a business trip, so between rushing to get those three out of the office and 'holding the fort down' since they've been gone, I've hardly had a chance to read my email, let alone write anything down.

I've taken to carrying a notepad with me so that at any time, I can write down a shopping list, things to do, a design idea, an errant thought. That's all I've been able to write for the past week and a half. And even though it's in my pocket lately out of necessity, I think it's a good habit for me to get into.

Normally I really hate life the week after the the change to (from?) daylight savings time. In the past it's taken at least a week for me to know what time it is. This year it's been ok so far, except that I feel like I just got here and started working at lunchtime, and haven't left before 8PM any night this week.

Tonight I'll leave just about on time. Really I will.

Speaking of, I did actually call in "well" to work a week-an-a-half ago. Didn't feel guilty about it at all, even though it fell right before this crazy insane stuff started happening at work. I was going to do it again this past Friday or Monday, but the crazy insanes hit again -- I worked at home this past weekend, while the Boyfriend snored on my bed after a takeout sushi feast.

If I've been dealing well with the time change, it's to make up for dealing so poorly with the unseasonably warm weather. While the heat encourages the cute guys of the City to go in shorts and tank tops (or less), it's usually too warm for me to spend any time outside (being a bit of a heliophobe).

I was lured outside to watch a building a block from my house burn down. Quite dramatic and frighteningly beautiful -- the huge column of roiling black smoke pouring up into the blue-orange-pink sunset. If I think of it, I'll post any good pictures I took of the disaster when I get the film back. Since it was warm, there were a lot of people out and around to watch. People like to watch disasters.

Why else would you people come here if they didn't? :-)

* * *

It's Depression Dot Com, As Net Workers Wilt

OSLO (Reuters) - Depression and exhaustion are a growing problem for Norwegian online workers in their quest for the Internet dollar, doctors say.

Doctors say they have seen an increase in the number of young Internet consultants seeking help for depression, mood swings, chronic pains and insomnia.

"It's scary to see people as young as 20 get stress-related illnesses which usually only strike people around 40 and 50 years old," said Bjoern Gillhagen, a leading doctor at Volvat private hospital in Oslo.

According to health experts, Internet workers struggle with long hours and tough deadlines. The work is exhausting and can contribute to heart disease or ulcers.

"Owners of companies push their employees to get short-term profit, but in the long run the stress is a killer for the employee and not a profitable policy," said Gillhagen, who has seen the same trend in neighboring Sweden.

* * *

Amen.

_Casey

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.