Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2000-03-18

Call me Twitchy.

My left eye has been having regular freakouts. Bothersome enough that I have to hold a finger over the eyelid to keep myself from going mad with the fluttering. And it's not the megadoses of caffeine, either. Currently I'm off my coffee -- indeed, I'm a pair of beers in the other direction -- and the demonic butterfly flaps its little wings of ocular distress. They say it's perfectly normal, and they don't know why it even happens, but it's nothing serious.

Oh no. I'm too good a hypochondriac to accept that as an answer. I must be going blind. (Good god...they were right! I should have stopped!)

I also mentioned in January that my back was screwed up. In March it's my arms. Besides the ongoing stiffness in my mouse-hand-wrist, now my other arm has sore spots when I rotate it at certain angles. I guess I slept on it funny, but it's been slow in recovering.

Getting old sucks. :-)

MP3 mania has finally struck at the house. It started when the Boyfriend's DSL got installed. Suddenly large file downloads were feasable at home. There's been some downloading happening, but by and large we own everything we've downloaded. And the things I don't own I have every intention to buy. (Klaus Nomi is a great example here. If I didn't like it enough to buy it, why would I bother downloading it?)

Besides which, I can't find his version of "Ding Dong (The Witch is Dead)". Which makes my record collection entirely incomplete.

So in the midst of this I bought SoundjamMP. I had bad experiences with early mac versions, but the Roommate and Boyfriend both have had stable experiences with it. I liked it so much I bought it in very short order.

So my computer downloads CD titles automatically from the CDDB. I pop in a new disc...and Kraftwerk's "The Mix" came up with titles in German. Which is fine, but nonetheless amusing -- amusing that I was surprised by it. It's good to remember that English is only the most common language on the Internet and not the only one.

I've been trying unsuccessfully for the past week to play hookey from work. Maybe Monday. Monday for sure.

* * * * *

In the Too Good to Not Share department:

US preacher finds demon-possessed PCs

Forget about viruses and malicious hackers; the real threat these days is far more insidious. Your home computer may be host to a demon, and you and your family may well come under its malevolent control, the Weekly World News reports.

"While the Computer Age has ushered in many advances, it has also opened yet another door through which Lucifer and his minions can enter and corrupt men's souls," the paper quotes the Reverend Jim Peasboro, author of an upcoming book, The Devil in the Machine, as saying.

Demons are able to possess anything with a brain, from a chicken to a human being. And today's thinking machines have enough space on their hard drives to accommodate Satan or his pals, the paper reports.

Disk capacity is an issue, however. Only a PC built after 1985 has the storage capacity to house an evil spirit, the minister explained.

That's it. I'll just start blaming absolutely everything on demons...I'll be completely absolved of all fault...

My favorite quote: "'The program began talking directly to me, openly mocked me,' he recalls. 'It typed out,"Preacher, you are a weakling and your God is a damn liar."' Then the device went haywire and started printing out what looked like gobbledygook."

Oh...I guess he found Usenet.

_Casey

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.