Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

1999-12-14

Gack. I have very suddenly come down with a cold, the same one that all of San Francisco seems to have. I only feel nearly completely miserable. That explains why I was vaguely dissatisfied with everything on Sunday morning, and why I was so manic Sunday Night.

Should have stayed home today. Even Bill Clinton stayed home from work today with the flu. No, I had to go in because "they need me there for this project" (they didn't) and "I had too much to do to miss a day" (I didn't). Instead I was just in a foul mood all day, trying not to breathe on people. At least not on the ones I like.

Today is the slack day, supposedly. Company-wide meeting in the morning, departmental "thank you" luncheon in the afternoon at a fancy restaurant. Ugh. Both the pretensious lunch spot and the being there with the cold.

Lemon-flavored Theraflu is my Manna from Heaven today. Hot, lemon, with lots of yummy cold medicines...it rocks my world.

And then there's the tooth bleaching...I'm almost embarrassed to admit it, but the dentist suggested I try whitening before she finished the crown in the front. OK, I figured what could I lose? Unfortunately, all night with the bleach on makes my teeth so sensitive it hurts to breathe through my mouth. Stuffy nose, sore mouth...I'll just breathe out of my eyelids, then, shall I? I never realised how vain I can be....

Way behind in Xmas Shopping. I still haven't found the big gift for the Boyfriend or the Housemate. And no idea what on earth to get my parents, my sister and brother (who are probably too late to mail to, anyway), or our hosts for Christmas dinner.

Theraflu. Everybody gets Theraflu this year.

On the way home I stopped in Walgreens for lotion tissues. Too late, the nose is chapped and sore already. But I wandered around in a haze, the flu-induced trance, and looked at all the pretty Christmas things. I remember when I was young -- there was usually a cold or flu before Christmas. And I'd enjoy the hazy, pretty lights, and sparkly things, and all the shiny surfaces supposed to remind those of us on the West Coast of snow and ice.

Of course, when I was six, I didn't have an ATM card to buy all the shiny stuff.

I'm a menace to myself.

_Casey

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.