Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2001-07-16

Ok, so maybe This Saturday wasn't the best date we've been on in a while, but it was with my favorite person to go on a date with, anyway. But we learned a valuable lesson:

Don't go to see a one-man show based on an existentialist text when you're still sleep deprived.

I mean, Bill Irwin is a good performer, but he wasn't miked and was hard to hear. And his material was a little-known piece by Samuel Beckett on the duality of perception, the treachery of language and the senses, and the finality and meaning (or meaninglessness) of death. Unfortunately, I don't think either of us were prepared for anything intellectually deeper than Shrek. Still chewing on that one.

We then had dinner at a famous steakhouse/seafood restaurant here in the city. Yes, I know...and as a vegetarian I got exactly what I expected. But apparently it wasn't just me who was disappointed; the Boyfriend said something to the effect of, "At least we don't have to eat here again."

But that's all in the plan; like last year, we plan to unintentionally experience at least one bad show, eat one bad meal and see one bad movie each year. That way we keep trying different things and (by the Law of Averages) see and eat something exceptional too. So if nothing else this weekend, we found contenders.

I had dinner with my Mom and some of her acquaintances last night in Los Gatos to celebrate her birthday. That was interesting. She claims not to like them that much, but these people all call her their best friends. I think my Mom is being too nice�arguably a trait I inherited. We also agreed that if nothing else, she's a freak magnet�arguably another trait I inherited.

Either that or I'm just another freak.

The restaurant was in "Old Town" Los Gatos, which was partly destroyed in the Loma Prieta earthquake in 1989. They've redone it and, as David noted, they've completely ruined it. It used to be a cute collection of old brick buildings, something relatively rare in post-1906 Northern California. Albeit a bit twee and a touch snooty, it was undeniably charming. When they rebuilt it, rather than keep its slightly aged charm, they redeveloped, making it look like any other South Bay minimall, a mishmash of vaguely Spanish Hacienda styles, and pushed out the old businesses to replace them with chain stores like the Gap. Well, OK, gentrification happens everywhere in California, but why does "progress" always have to be so ugly?

The Roommate came with me, since he's on vacation this week (what else is he going to do?) and since he's buddies with my mother. If she calls and I'm not there, he'll chat with her for half an hour at a stretch. So this way he got to experience my mother's "friends" firsthand. Now he understands her tech support horror stories even better.

Now, please note that just last week I plucked a completely white�down to the root�hair off my head. I've been looking at the little lines and circles that smoking and sleep deprivation have left around my eyes and wondering how much is permanent and how much will go away with enough sleep and some moisturizer. But even with all this, I was carded for liquor at the restaurant. I'm still in shock.

After being bad and lazy all week, I managed to get Mom's present (copies of MacOS X and the Sims) at Fry's Electronics on the way�trainee cashier notwithstanding. She was nice, and very professional for her second day on the job, but it still took her three tries to get the store credit and the credit card charge to happen correctly. I'll be surprised if I'm not charged at least twice on my next credit card statement. Fry's employees are not known for their sharpness, anyway. But regardless, I left with gift in hand and still made it in time for dinner.

Of course, I came back with even more food, and a wine rack (a small one), and some dishes...sigh. She's a little mixed up on the "It's my birthday so other people give presents to me" thing. But I did get my birth certificate, so I can get my passport. (Which, duh, stupid me, I never even thought might require a modest fee to get.) I also got a collection of my baby pictures, from birth to about 18 months old. Maybe I'll get around to scanning some of the more noteworthy ones sometime.

But suffice it to say I don't like to hear my mom use the phrase "in case something happens to us." I don't think I'm ready to go there yet.

We finally met our department's new boss today. She seems pretty cool; very laid back and a bit irreverent, which is nice, plus she's worked in environments like this before. She seems like she'll be competent to work for. We'll see what happens to her attitude as she gets more responsibilities and real projects, but so far I'm feeling confident.

OK, I still have two birthdays to go this week (with presents to buy for each of them,) plus dinner and a concert at Wente Vineyards in Livermore. But again, the company will be good, so the meal or the music can disappoint and I'll still be happy.

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.