Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2001-05-22

It's officially past that time of the year when I'm comfortable and don't complain about the weather. I restrain myself for a couple of months as best I can and save up a little whining for times when it's too cold, or too hot, or whatever.

Lately it's been too bright. Thank the gods for sunglasses.

I started a tell-all confession entry yesterday, but I ran out of steam after the first confession or so. Once I get a full page of sordid, unfiltered truths about myself, and when I'm lacking in other content to write about, I'll post it for public scorn and ridicule.

Truth of the day: never join a conference call with a man who loves the sound of his own voice. I hope the people at the other end of the line were able to have a successful meeting over the noise going into my phone.

A quiet weekend. We didn't make it out to the Second Annual Bohemian Arts Ball at Jezebel's Joint on Saturday. It was 9 and I was just starting to make a big potato salad and Crudit�s and Brie Cheese Crostini. (I am occasionally prone to make all hors d'oeurves dinners a l� Cher in Mermaids.) I'd gone to the grocery store hungry and brought home well-nigh every kind of vegetable they had. Two days later and I still have to go back to the regular supermarket for meat for the Roommate (damn Hippy Vegetarians!) and more bread.

Sunday we woke up just before the pounding techno started at the Street Fair a half-block from my house. I would have gone, at least to point and laugh at the sparse turnout, but it was far to bright outside to consider it. The best I managed was occasionally throwing open the window and screaming "FUCKERS!!!" as loud as I could. OK, I didn't actually do that, because that would have involved opening the blinds. And the Yellow Face, it burns usss!!!

I've not been sleeping well. Actually, that's not entirely true. I've been sleeping well once I get there. But even last night, when I shut down the computer because I was tired, I got in bed and was immediately not sleepy; read for a while. Fell asleep at 3:30 or 4 for the third night in a row or so. And slept pretty soundly until the goddamn air compressor at the VW/Audi dealership went on at 8:30. This is not making me particularly chipper or effective at work, and like I need any more excuses to slack off.

But tomorrow I've got a meeting at 9AM. Gross. That means I have to turn off the computer early tonight. No, really. I'll go to bed early. After folding laundry, and eating pizza, and moving the car -- which I haven't had to do in a couple of months -- and talking with the Boyfriend. And posting this. And posting to the Weblog. So, maybe, like, 1:30AM instead of 2AM...

But I can't firebomb the place, though I may fantasize about it. If nothing else, the Boyfriend's car is there at the service center. Last week it died in Colma, known locally as City of the Dead. How apropos. I got to play Knight in Shining...well, rusting...Armor and come rescue him in my Rust Bucket Camaro, which had gotten the "move it or we tow" notice from the City stuck to the window. ["..and then he has an umbrella, which he brandishes like a sword..." (5.9Mb Quicktime)]

Whoops. So much for that other conference call. Both of us here at work forgot about it until fifteen minutes into it. Hope it wasn't important.

It's that time of year again, where we pick movies to see for the San Francisco Gay and Lesbian Film Festival. Apparently the Boyfriend is using the traditional method: mark tons of movies and whittle them down to what you can really see around your work schedule. The schedule isn't actually public until tomorrow, but as a membership perk, Frameline members and members from the year before get it a little early.

Lately he's been trying to book me for all kinds of concerts and events. I'm a little suspicious. If I didn't know better I'd think he was trying to get me out of the house or something. Personally, I'm debating the purchase of two new video games and spending a long weekend with aluminum foil taped to the windows to get that dark, "immersive" feeling of being outside without all that nasty sunlight.

Why are you people looking at me like that?

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.