Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2001-12-16

What the hell happened to December?

I had a kind of a busy week. Or two. Or something. What day is it today? Sunday? At least I don't have to go in to work tomorrow. At least I'm pretty sure I don't. As my boss put it, "You're not earning brownie points from me if you come in on your days off." Oops. I didn't realize that I was playing the sycophant until then, but she's right�I was. Nevertheless they do have my home number and know that I'll be around, if not here in the apartment, in case of an emergency.

Sycophant or sucker? You make the call.

I'm not even sure what happened these past few weeks to keep me from writing. There was Bingo with the Sisters, which was somehow quieter than usual, despite the fact that it was one of the most-attended nights they've had. The three days before were pretty easy, work-wise, and I could have left early with ease. So of course, without fail, the day of the week where there's crisis and stupid drama is the day when I wanted to leave early. At noon I expected to miss lunch for an unannounced meeting at one and a new project with a three o'clock deadline. But with some deep breaths and determination I was out of there by five-thirty, plenty of time to meet Our Mutual Friend and her friends in line.

There was the Naughty Santa's Black Market, a sort of twisted craft fair where I bought more stuff for myself than for other people; this included a neat-o pair of striped ceramic horns (hand made by real faeries) which I wore for the rest of the evening. We saw robots battle on stage, and dancing showgirls, and about two dozen Santas of various genders and states of inebriation and undress. One Santa flashed her enormous tits at us. One skinny tattooed male vendor stripped to the waist for us and modelled one of their shirts; I'm not sure if he was on something, but it looked like he was having a good time whatever it was. We eventually got drinks and Mixed Asian Tapas (Fusion Cuisine Mania!) at a regrettably trendy (but tasty) nearby restaurant and watched people scurry past in the rain. At eleven at night, we were the only customers in the place, and not surprisingly, the service was excellent.

And then on the way home I found $80 on the sidewalk. So dinner was on me.

We did more shopping the next day at a bunch of stores in the Mission, some of which I might have to return to. But then again I may have to just shell out express shipping costs and get stuff for people off their Amazon Wish Lists at this point. I'm running out of time.

And then Our Mutual Friend finally got me over to her house for the newest season of Absolutely Fabulous and Hannukah goodies. We brought Champagne for the former. She brought potato latkes and dessert and Hannukah presents because it was "Her people's holiday." Scowl. She's so thoughtful. Thankfully I already have gift ideas for another semi-secular holiday this month. She's not getting away with it that easily.

Somehow it was suddenly time for the office Christmas party, which was...an office Christmas party. There were lots of hip little things around, plenty of free wine and music and some food and such. But obviously the budget was much smaller than our previous parties had been.

And suddenly again it was the end of the week and I was working late putting together a last minute request (and, well, sucking up to the boss, it seems) before I left for vacation.

Oh yeah, and somewhere in there my father's mother died. She had been very sick for a long time, so while it was sudden, it wasn't unexpected. At least she's not in pain anymore. My father made it to her funeral and back without much incident (except for having his tiny fingernail clipper with a knife taken from him by a National Guardsman; whoops.) That made three funerals of people I knew or could have known in the past three weeks, which appeases this strange superstition I have. I can only hope it's a long while before there's another three.

Last night we had the Boyfriend's office party. Normally their events seem more familial than business-related, including the relatives nobody really likes who just get drunk and cause problems. This was no exception. I was amused to meet one of their new employees and his "partner," who looked...petrified. I don't know if he was frightened or appalled at meeting me, but while he was tall and kind of attractive he had all the responsiveness of a stone column. And right on schedule, there was the Female Acquaintance Of The Boyfriend Inquiring Why We Weren't Living Together Yet. I'm beginning to wonder if these little discussions are set up purposefully or if they're happening spontaneously but with remarkable regularly. All in all I think we both had a pretty good time; we came home to "creatively" wrap about a dozen presents for his siblings or their children.

I've bought and wrapped some presents of my own, but I'm far from done. And the days keep ticking away. I think on some level, last year I wanted to approach what some Marketing person would call a "magical Christmas." I do not have the energy for that this year; even after getting plenty of sleep the past few nights, I'm exhausted.

Tomorrow, possibly, I'll put up the Tremendously Gothic Little Tree. However accomplishing that will involve donating or throwing away at least some of the crap in that room, something that has been on my to-do list since last January. But I refuse to decorate until there's some semblance of order in that room. I refuse to have Christmas sideways around a bunch of boxes. That's just sad.

But doing that will also delay Christmas Shopping yet another day. Sigh.

All I want for Christmas is a few more days before it happens.

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.