Doc Martin

Fear Not Drowning

Ultramundane.com

YOU'LL DANCE TO ANYTHING...

2000-12-23

I hate my behavior sometimes, and particularly just before the holidays. I feel like I become a total jerk for a few days before. Mom and Dad came up last Saturday to pick up the jackets they had bought for me and my dad to return them -- dad and I both agreed that it wasn't really a very good jacket for the money. Sunday they returned with a nice Kenneth Cole jacket, which I'm particularly fond of. But I was snippy on the phone that they were driving an hour up here, and I think I treated the Roommate like a secretary as well because I had things to do. God, what a spoiled brat I am.

But I think that bratty phase -- and the "fuck Christmas!" sentiment -- passed pretty quickly. Shopping like a maniac. I believe the best phrase is "bleeding money", but mostly because I'm using the one-for-you-one-for-me method of shopping. (credit to Patric King for the turn of phrase there.) I'm really trying to not buy things that other people might be buying for me, but if nothing else I've seen a bunch of stuff that I'm definitely picking up in after-Christmas sales.

I was very happy to pick my friend's (one of the few left) name at work in the gift exchange. Ironically, she drew mine as well. But I cheated and went over budget. Eh. It's just money. I want friends to get things they'd like. At the same time I hope I didn't make her inadvertantly feel bad. Oops. If I did, I'm sorry. See? More bad behavior.

Our group got the four remaining work days this year off -- sort of. Each of the Art Directors has a day they're supposed to come in and check for any graphics issues that might arise. Mine is the 26th. Of course, I went in on Thursday, and then to do personal work on Friday (and got roped into more work-work). I'm still not real good at this time-off thing yet, am I? So it doesn't feel so much like we're taking time off yet. Maybe next week, once the shopping part is over.

If I ever figure out whose greasy handprints were all over the scanner (and therefore all over my scans) I may be forced to cut those hands off. This is the Wild West of the Web, and justice here is harsh and swift...

All right, maybe not. But I will remind them not to make messes at work again.

The Boyfriend and I were walking through Macys, and for the second time this year we found ourselves walking around in Fine China. Honestly, we aren't picking out china patterns. At any rate, they have tables set up with various placesettings and generally obnoxious centerpieces. I was making typically snide comments about them as we passed ("There's not quite enough gold on this one. Have the servants gilded too and it might do.") It was a lot of tacky fun.

Until we came to the red one.

The hideous, gaudy, red one. A mess of red christmas lights hanging from a steel chandelier. Red plates, red table. Huge glasses of red and grey. Gaudy. I looked at this monstrocity and realized -- not only did I not hate it, but this could be me. I told this to the boyfriend, who (well, what else could he do?) agreed.

I looked into the face of tacky and saw myself looking back.

So I'm more convinced than before that the best gift someone could give me this season would be a storage unit, or even better, a dumpster. Someplace to put the crap that I can't seem to part with. Except, of course, for the new crap I'll pull home from the post-holiday sales.

All right, much wrapping to do, and maybe some game-playing before the "events" begin tomorrow night.

Happy Holidays.

RECENT ENTRIES

2003-03-29 - Moving Notice
2002-06-04 - Accordians and Ambassadors (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-24 - Manias (Diary Fragment)
2002-05-09 - See this little island here?
2002-04-24 - Bored and Drippy.